Cry It Out

While Cry It Out (CIO) usually refers to a baby sleep training method, I call it my coping method.

I‘d like to tell you that I’m one of those strong people who is always smiling and never complaining.  I’d like to tell you that I always have a positive outlook and am optimistic about the future.  The truth is, I’m not.  I’m scared.  I try to stay positive.  I truly believe in self-fulfilling prophecies.  But, I also cry.  I cry because I hurt.  I cry because I‘m tired.  I cry because I’m frustrated that I’m not able to do the things I enjoy.  I cry because I’m scared of what the future holds.  When I’m done feeling sorry for myself, I cry because I am grateful.

     I’m grateful that my disease has not progressed further.  I’m grateful that I am seeing top-notch doctors.  I’m grateful that I have an amazing support system.  I’m grateful that I have had excellent examples of how to get through hard times.  I’m grateful that I am still able to walk, talk, type, read, taste delicious foods, listen to music, and hear the sounds of nature.
     I’m challenging myself, and I challenge you, to find things to be grateful for on a regular basis.  What are you grateful for today?
2 thoughts on “Cry It Out

  1. Well, since ya asked 🙂 …right this minute, I’m grateful for having read your post: it reminds me that I’m not alone in sometimes feeling overwhelmed, and that I have things to be happy about, too. Thanks for this post. You made a difference in my day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

