How Are You Feeling?

How are you feeling today?  Do you dread that question?  I do.  I want to be positive, but I also want to be real.  I want to hide my diseases and their affect on me, but I want others to know that the reason I’m not smiling isn’t because I’m upset with them or bored, rather because I’m hurting.  What does someone want to hear when they ask that question?  It depends on the person asking.  If my doctor is asking, they want to hear the truth, in detail.  If my mom is asking, she wants to hear that I am feeling better.  If my boyfriend is asking, he wants to know what plans to make for the evening.  If my coworker is asking, she wants to know if I am up for working.  If a friend is asking, what do they really want to hear?  How do you answer that question?
5 thoughts on “How Are You Feeling?

  1. Well, this is a tough one. My friends and family want to believe that I am getting better, when the truth is I have good days and bad days, and In general I can see that I am losing ground over time, which is pretty scary. I just tell them that I’m having a good (or bad) day and leave it at that. If it’s a really bad day I tell them that yesterday was good, and I did a lot, so today I’m in recovery mode.

    Like

Leave a Reply

